photography · Travel

The Art of making an Idol of Goddess Durga

It’s been a long time I’m irregular in the blogosphere. Blogging is like oxygen to me. Hence, you can say I spent these days with a very little amount of oxygen. The reason of this irregularity is my relocation.  I have shifted from Hyderabad to my hometown, Kolkata. Shifting from a city to another city and setting up everything there is really a hectic job. Anyway, somehow, I managed the things to some extent and now I’m feeling suffocated without my “oxygen”.  I ‘d like to thank my fellow bloggers, who came and visited my blog, liked the posts, left their valuable thoughts here and followed my blog  in spite of my such irregularity. I regret that I missed so many exciting posts of yours. Hope, I’ll cover up those slowly in future.

Biggest festival of Kolkata:

It’s a great blessing to me that I came back to Kolkata at the time when one can see the ultimate joy of the city of joy. The whole city is now excited to celebrate its biggest festival. That is Durga Puja.  It’s 4 days long festival of Goddess Durga Puja. But, Bongs of Kolkata are celebrating it almost over a month. It’s started from the shopping of new dresses and ornaments, cleaning of houses, searching partner for Puja fun to the pandals (a temporary temple to place the goddess idol) hopping and dancing at the immersion of Goddess idol. Making goddess idols and pandals for placing the idols are the exclusive sign of Bengali’s artistic nature.  You cannot understand how much effort, art, and dedications are involved within it until you see it in your eyes.

Making of the idol of Goddess Durga:

The idol of goddess Durga is created with the clay and color on the basic structure of bamboo and straw. And it is done so diligently and methodically by the artisans that it looks like the real or living goddess.  I took a trip to the shop, where the idols are built, with my camera to catch the art and the dedication of the artists behind the exquisite piece of creation.  These are some photos which I took during that  time.

mountain-13
The event of giving eyes to the idol of Goddess
mountain-17
An artist’s touch on the idol.
mountain-19
The reflection of the idol of Goddess Durga in the eyeball of the lion’s idol.
mountain-21
The colors that create magic on the idols.

 

29 thoughts on “The Art of making an Idol of Goddess Durga

  1. Beautiful! I visited Calcutta once during Durga Puja. My friends and I went pandal hopping the whole night. 🙂 And I lost count of the number of rosogullas I ate during my stay. 😀😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Shine, first of all wish you a very happy festival time and great back home feeling…
    Nice pictures. Wish I can visit Kolkata once…. esp during Navratri…. 🙂
    Keep Shining!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

